Q: Is there any way I can expedite my Hunter Education Certification Card?

A: No—The Hunter Education Program is **unable** to expedite your Hunter Education Certification card. Certification cards are mailed within 2-3 weeks of completing the Hunter Education Course.

Q: What happens if I miss a portion of the course but would still like to receive my certification?

A: If you miss fifteen minutes or more of any segment/video during the course, you must make up that entire segment/video before taking the exam. An Incomplete Letter will be issued to notify you of the portion you missed and need to make up before taking the exam. You will have six months to make up an Incomplete. After six months, you must take the whole course again. To make up an Incomplete, bring and present your Incomplete Letter when signing in for the class. There is a \$2.00 replacement fee for lost Incomplete Letters. In order to make up an Incomplete, you must register for a class or attend as a standby.

Q: I still haven't received my certification document after three weeks. What should I do?

A: Call the Hunter Education Office. Your certification is mailed to the address you provide on the class roster. Since your Hunter Education Certification is a legal document, it is important that you verify and confirm all your information on the class roster. If we made a mistake, we will make the correction and re-mail your certification card for free. However, if you did not correct errors on the class roster, you are responsible and will be assessed a \$5.00 replacement fee. A Request for Replacement form must be completed before we can re-issue your certification card.

Note: we need your legal mailing address—not your residential address!

Q: Who should I contact about issues regarding my hunting license?

A: If you have any issues with your hunting license, contact any Division of Forestry and Wildlife Office.

Q: Does the Hawaii Hunter Education Program offer advanced courses?

A: Yes—The Hawaii Hunter Education Program does offer an Advanced Bowhunting Certification which is recognized by the National Bowhunter Education Foundation (NBEF). Please call our office for updated information on the availability of advanced courses and to register on a running roster.

Hawaii Hunter Education Program

Island of Oahu:

Island of Hawaii:

1130 N. Nimitz Hwy., A212 Honolulu, HI. 96817 Telephone: (808) 587-0200 Fax: (808) 587-0205 66-1220D Lalamilo Road Kamuela, HI. 96743 Toll Free: 1-800-353-4868 Fax: (808) 887-6052

Important Telephone Numbers Division of Forestry and Wildlife:

Oahu: (808) 587-0166

 Hawaii:
 (808) 974-4221

 Maui:
 (808) 984-8100

 Kauai:
 (808) 274-3433

 Molokai:
 (808) 553-1745

 Lanai:
 (808) 565-7916

Division of Conservation and Resource Enforcement

Conservation Hotline: (808) 643-3567

Oahu:(808) 587-0077Hawaii:(808) 974-6208Maui:(808) 984-8110Kauai:(808) 274-3521Molokai:(808) 553-5190Lanai:(808) 565-7916



To educate resource users in becoming responsible, conservation-minded, and safety conscious.

Hawaii Hunter Education Program

Frequently Asked Questions

ORLANDO B. OXILES PROGRAM COORDINATOR HAWAII HUNTER EDUCATION PROGRAM

ANDREW W.J. CHOY ASSISTANT COORDINATOR HAWAII HUNTER EDUCATION PROGRAM

Q: Who needs to take the Hunter Education Course?

A: Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) §183D-28, "No person shall be eligible for a hunting license unless the person has a valid hunter education certificate or meets the requirements for exemption".

Anyone born after December 31, 1971 *or* before January 1, 1972 and never possessed a State of Hawaii hunting license issued prior to July 1, 1990 or cannot show proof of having possessed said license, is required to take a Hunter Education Course in order to purchase a hunting license.

Q: What is a Letter of Exemption, and who may be issued one?

A: Under HRS §183D-28, a Letter of Exemption will allow you to purchase a hunting license, provided you have met the conditions to apply for a Letter of Exemption.

You may apply for a Letter of Exemption if you were born before January 1, 1972 and can show proof of possessing a State of Hawaii hunting license issued prior to July 1, 1990 OR can show proof of successfully completing a basic hunter education course that is approved by the International Hunter Education Association (IHEA).

You may apply for a Letter of Exemption either in person at the Hawaii Hunter Education Program office or any of the Division of Forestry and Wildlife offices OR online at dlnr.hawaii.gov/huntered.

Bowhunter/Advanced Bowhunter Courses, Firearms specific courses, National Rifle Association (NRA) courses, Military/Law Enforcement training, as well as hunting licenses issued by other states, Canadian Provinces or other countries do not qualify for exemption.

Q: Does the Letter of Exemption meet the requirements to apply for a permit to acquire a handgun?

A: No—Pursuant to HRS §134-2, the Letter of Exemption **does not** meet the requirements to apply for a permit to acquire a handgun in the State of Hawaii.

Q: Once I get my Hunter Education Certification, do I need to take the course again?

A: No—The Hunter Education Certification which you receive upon satisfactory completion of the Hawaii Hunter Education Course is specific to you and never expires.

Q: Where is my Hunter Education Certification recognized?

A: The Hawaii Hunter Education Course is accredited by the IHEA. Your Hunter Education Certification is recognized by the other 49 states, Canadian Provinces, and Mexico. If you plan to hunt outside United States, Canada, and Mexico, you are responsible to see if your Hunter Education Certification is recognized in that country.

Q: What is the difference between a hunting license and the Hunter Education Certification?

A: Your Hunter Education Certification is what you receive upon satisfactorily completing the Hawaii Hunter Education Course. It is not a hunting license. You must purchase a hunting license in order to hunt in Hawaii (both public and private lands). Hunting licenses are based on the fiscal year, and they expire every year on June 30th, regardless of the date of issue.

Q: Does the certification I receive through the Hunter Education Program meet the requirements to apply for a permit to acquire a handgun?

A: Yes—Pursuant to HRS §134-2(g)(1), the Hunter Education Certification **does** meet the requirements to apply for a permit to acquire a handgun in the State of Hawaii.

Q: Can I laminate my Hunter Education Certification Card?

A: Yes—You may laminate your certification card. The Hawaii Hunter Education Program does not offer laminating services.

Q: I have a Letter of Exemption number but have since completed the Hunter Education Course in Hawaii. What happens to my exemption number?

A: If you have satisfactorily completed the Hawaii Hunter Education Course, your certification number will supersede your Letter of Exemption number. Your Letter of Exemption number will be voided.

Q: I lost my Hunter Education Certification Card (or Letter of Exemption). How can I get a replacement?

A: You must complete a Request for Replacement form and submit it with a \$5.00 processing fee to the Hunter Education Office or any Division of Forestry and Wildlife Office. Replacement forms are available online at: <u>dlnr.hawaii.gov/huntered</u>.

Q: After I pass the class, how long will it take to receive my Hunter Education Certification?

A: You should receive it within 2-3 weeks. The processing time is the same for Letter of Exemptions, and replacements.

Q: My name/address has changed and is now different from my original Hunter Education Certification Card. How can I update my information?

A: A Request for Replacement form must be submitted for an address or name change. For name changes, a document certifying a name change is required, i.e., marriage certificate, etc. There is an additional \$5.00 charge for a name change.