CLG Program


Preservation through Partnership: this is the goal of the Certified Local Government (CLG) Program.  Local, State, and Federal governments work together in the Federal Preservation Program to help communities save the irreplaceable historic character of places.  Through the certification process, communities make a local commitment to historic preservation. This commitment is key to America’s ability to preserve, protect, and increase awareness of  our unique cultural heritage found in the built environment across the country.

Community certification opens doors to funding, technical assistance, and other preservation successes.

  • Funding: States receive annual appropriations from the Federal Historic Preservation Fund.  States are required to give at least 10% of their funding to CLGs as subgrants.  These grants can fund a wide variety of projects including: surveys, National Register nominations, rehabilitation work, design guidelines, educational programs, training, structural assessments, and feasibility studies, to name a few.
  • Technical Assistance: As a CLG, communities have direct access to SHPO staff for assistance with their commission, building assessments, surveys and nominations, and general preservation assistance.  State staff and NPS offer regular training for CLGs as well, an added benefit of the partnership. Each SHPO has a designated CLG Coordinator.
  • Sustainability: Historic preservation has proven economic, environmental, and social benefits.  Studies show that historic districts maintain higher property values, less population decline, more walkability and greater sense of community.

Being a CLG demonstrates your community’s commitment to saving what is important from the past for future generations. As a certified community it becomes easy to demonstrate a readiness to take on successful preservation projects, making your community able to compete for new opportunities!

Jointly administered by the National Park Service (NPS) and the State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs), each local community works through a certification process to become recognized as a Certified Local Government (CLG). Once certified CLGs become an active partner in the Federal Historic Preservation Program. . Each community gains access to benefits of the program and agrees to follow required Federal and State requirements. 

CLG Coordinator

State Certified Local Government (CLG) Coordinators are a key component to the Federal, State, and local preservation program. NPS works with State Coordinators to strengthen the program by maintaining the CLG contact database, certification of new communities, reporting on accomplishments, training, and evaluation of CLGs.

CLG Contact Information
Please contact Anna Broverman, Architectural Historian at (808) 692-8028 or

When a State Coordinator is ready to certify a new community the following documents must be submitted to NPS:
• a copy of the signed certification agreement,
• a complete checklist indicating that the community meets the requirements of the program.
• Additional documentation, like ordinance, commission bios, by-laws, are welcome but not required.

Once NPS recieves the certification request package we have 15 days to request additional information. The community is officially a CLG when NPS issues the certification letter, which it provides to the State and the local government. Please provide contact information for the local government with the certification request.

States are required to report on the activity of their CLG program as part of their annual reporting for the Historic Preservation Fund grant, including the number of CLGs certified, decertified, and evaluated each calendar year.

GPRA Reporting: A voluntary process, individual CLGs have the opportunity to help tell the broad story of preservation activity across the country. The Report Forms can be sent directly to your communities by NPS, or the State Coordinator can collect the information and submit as a batch to NPS.

NPS hosts State Coordinator Training bi-annually in conjunction with the National Alliance of Preservation Commission (NAPC)Forum Conference. NPS has also established a series of training modules which State Coordinators can use with local communities:

    • Section 106 Training
    • Sustainability
    • NAPC Forum


Monitoring the progress and track record of over 1,860 CLGs across the country is an important part of maintaining a successful program. NPS requires that States conduct a thorough evaluation of each CLG every 4years. For guidance on this please refer to Chapter 9 of the Historic Preservation Fund Grants Manual. Evaluation is an important step prior to a State moving to decertify an active CLG.


CLG Forms

CLG Application Checklist

Hawaii State CLG Grant Application

CLG Certification Agreement

Commissioner Information Form


How to Become a Certified Local Government (CLG)
Is your community ready to enhance their commitment to historic preservation?  Then now is the time to become a Certified Local Government (CLG) and an active partner in the Federal Preservation Program.

What Does a CLG Do?
A Certified Local Government must meet the following minimum goals:

  • Establish a qualified historic preservation commission.


  • Enforce appropriate State or local legislation for the designation and protection of historic properties. In most cases this is done in the form of a local ordinance.


  • Maintain a system for the survey and inventory of local historic resources.


  • Facilitate public participation in the local preservation, including participation in the National Register listing process.


  • Follow additional requirements outlined in the State’s CLG Procedures. Each state has Procedures for Certification that may establish additional requirements for becoming a CLG in that State.

How to get certified?
Certification happens jointly through steps by local, State, and Federal Governments:

  1.  Contact your State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) and ask for the CLG Coordinator.  They will assist your community in understanding the requirements and application process.
      2.  Submit completed application to the SHPO, who will approve and forward to the National Park Service (NPS).
      3.  Certification occurs with NPS approval and written notification to the State and the Local Government.