Hawai'i Conservation Alliance HCC Annual Award Winners

During the annual Hawai'i Conservation Conference (HCC), the Hawai'i Conservation Alliance recognizes 4 individuals or entities with the following awards:

## **Distinguished Service Award**

Since 1997 the Hawai'i Conservation Alliance has recognized persons reaching the highest esteem within the conservation community. These persons are nominated by their peers. The award honors exceptional service, personal effort and unselfish interest, embodying long-term dedication and tenacity in environmental conservation for the Hawaiian Islands.

### **Conservation Innovation Award**

Starting in July 2006, the HCA has granted the Conservation Innovation Awards for new technologies or techniques used in conservation activities in the islands. This recognition is given to the instigators or champions of a procedure that leads to significant advances to the structure or nature of environmental conservation in Hawai'i. Examples of such procedures may be the creating of legislation that changes the dynamics of natural resource management, or programs that lead to significant better protection of the Hawaii's native ecosystems.

### **Outstanding Leadership Award:**

Since 2007, this award is given to a person who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in advancing environmental conservation in Hawai'i over the short to medium term (several years to a decade). Examples of such leadership may be seen in creating avenues for rapid advancement in conservation through influencing natural resource management or programs that lead to significant better protection of Hawai'i's native ecosystems.

## Legacy Award

In 2017, the HCA established an award to recognize early pioneers in modern conservation in Hawai'i. Typically, these are people who laid the groundwork to establish conservation programs, create environmental education and advocacy efforts, and mentor conservation practitioners and leaders. Our current senior conservation leadership often mentions these early individuals as the reason for their commitment to conservation in Hawai'i, and they, and the programs that exist today, are in large part the legacy of these early workers. The current generation of conservation practitioners and students often have never heard of these figures, so this is an opportunity to recognize the important role they played in conservation in Hawai'i. This is a posthumous award.

# Past Awardees & Selection Criteria

### HCA Distinguished Service Award (DSA)

Selection Criteria: The DSA will be given to a person who has excelled by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, thereby making distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position. This individual has reached the highest esteem within the conservation community, and embodies the spirit of hope, the dedication of purpose, and the tenacity of firm belief that our native ecosystems are a valued component of our heritage, and our gift to Hawaii's children.

- 2019: Suzanne Case, Chairperson of the State of Hawai'i Department of Land and Natural Resources
- 2018: Audrey Newman, GLISPA, HGG, TNC (Retired)
- 2017: Denise Antolini, WSRSL
- 2015 (1) Alvin Char, Environmental Division Chief, US Army Garrison Hawai'i
- 2015 (2) Loyal Mehrhoff, Field Supervisor, Pacific Islands USFWS
- 2014 Pauline Sato, Executive Director, Mālama Learning Center
- 2013 (1): Dr. Samuel M. Ohukani'ohi'a Gon III, The Nature Conservancy
- 2013 (2): Jack Jeffrey, Wildlife Photographer
- (2012 20<sup>th</sup> HCC Anniversary -Many people acknowledged)
- 2011 (1): Robert Masuda, University of Hawai'i
- 2011 (2): Jim Maragos, Retired Coral Reef Biologist, Pacific Reefs National Wildlife Refuge Complex, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
- 2010: Chuck "Doc" Burrows, 'Ahahui Malama I Ka Lokahi
- 2009: Charles P. "Chuck" Stone, retired Research Biologist, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park
- 2007: Isabella Aiona Abbott, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
- 2006: Dieter Mueller-Dombois, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
- 2005 (1): David Woodside, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- 2005 (2): Tim Tunison, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
- 2004: Bryan Harry, Director of the National Park Service Pacific West Region
- 2003: Kenneth Kaneshiro, Director of the Center for Conservation Research and Training, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
- 2002: Sheila Conant, Professor of Zoology, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
- 2001: Nancy Glover, Former Senior Program Officer, Secretariat for Conservation Biology
- 2000: Lloyd Loope, Research Scientist, USGS, Haleakala Field Station, Haleakala National Park
- 1999: Charles H. Lamoureux , Former Professor of Botany, University of Hawaii at Manoa, and Director of the Lyon Arboretum
- 1998: Don Reeser, Superintendent of Haleakala National Park
- 1997: Clifford Smith, Director of the National Parks Service Study Unit, University of Hawaii at Manoa

### HCA Outstanding Leadership Award (OLA)

Selection Criteria: The OLA shall be given to a person who has demonstrated exceptional

leadership in advancing environmental conservation in Hawai'i over the short to medium term (several years to a decade). Examples of such leadership may be seen in creating avenues for rapid advancement in conservation through influencing management or programs that lead to significant better protection of the Hawaii's native ecosystems.

- 2019: Pacific Internship Programs for Exploring Science (PIPES)
- 2018: Neil Hannahs, Kamehameha Schools (retired)
- 2017: Nainoa Thompson, PVS
- 2015: William and Melva Aila, DLNR Chair
- 2014: Dr. Arthur Medeiros, Research Biologist, U.S. Geological Survey
- 2013: Chipper Wichman, National Tropical Botanical Garden
- (2012 20<sup>th</sup> HCC Anniversary -Many people acknowledged)
- 2011: Marjorie Ziegler, the Executive Director, Conservation Council for Hawai'i (CCH)
- 2010: Mark Fox, The Nature Conservancy of Hawai'i
- 2009: Lea Hong, Director of the Trust for Public Land's (TPL Hawai'i) Hawaiian Islands Program
- 2007: Peter Young, former director of the Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR)

### HCA Conservation Innovation Award (CIA)

Selection Criteria: Since 2005, the CIA shall be given to the instigators or champions of a procedure that leads to significant advances to the structure or nature of environmental conservation in Hawai'i. Examples of such procedures may be the creating of legislation that changes the dynamics of management, or programs that lead to significant better protection of the Hawaii's native ecosystems.

- 2019 Rapid 'Ōhi'a Death (ROD) Working Group
- 2018: Hawai'i Ant Lab
- 2017 (2): Hui Maka'āinana 'o Makana & Kekuhi Keliikanakaoleohaililani
- 2015: E Alu Pū
- 2014: Hui Kū Maoli Ola, Native Hawaiian Plant Nursery
- 2013: Kamehameha Schools
- (2012 20<sup>th</sup> HCC Anniversary -Many people acknowledged)
- 2011: Pono Pacific Land Management, LLC
- 2010: Hawai'i Association of Watershed Partnerships (HAWP)
- 2008: Land Acquisition Community
- 2007: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Conservation Partnerships Program
- 2006: For their leadership in developing and passing the Legacy Lands Act during the 2005 legislative session: House Speaker Calvin Say, Senator Russell Kokubun, Representative Ezra Kanoho, and Representative Brian Schatz

## Legacy Award

- 2019: Wayne Gagne
- 2018: Hampton L. Carson
- 2017: Lorin T. Gill