NATURAL AREA RESERVES SYSTEM COMMISSION MEETING

DATE:Thursday October 15, 2020TIME:12:00pm to 4:00pmPLACE:

Commissioners Present (All Commissioners stayed for the full meeting)

Bauer, Glenn Penniman, Jay Yeung, Norine Matsunaga, Janis Cohan, Alison Drake, Donald Hart, Patrick Kobayashi, Mary Lou Saito, Jeffrey Clark, Michelle

Commissioners Absent

Kawelo, Hiʻilei Roland, Scott

ITEM 1. Call to order and introduction of members and staff. Chair Jay Penniman called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m. (NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 1 0:00)

Staff Present

Laramee, Leah Gonsalves, Megan Lemberger, Thea Miller, Chris Agorastos, Nick Taylor, Andrew Duvall, Fern Yuen, Emma

ITEM 2. Approval of the Minutes of the August 22, 2019 Natural Area Reserves System Commission Meeting. Timestamp: (NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 11:37) Changes: Yeung, Norine did not attend the meeting Item 3 spelling error: opposed not apposed Alison and Jeffreys names are backwards, first names, last name vs. last name, first name

MOTION: Minutes are unanimously approved as edited.

Timestamp: NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 1 12:11 (NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 1 11:44)

Ayes: Bauer, Glenn Penniman, Jay Yeung, Norine Matsunaga, Janis Cohan, Alison Drake, Donald Hart, Patrick Kobayashi, Mary Lou Saito, Jeffrey Clark, Michelle

ITEM 3. Waiea Natural Area Reserve: Receive recommendations from Division of Forestry and Wildlife, if any, and approve, defer, make other recommendations, or deny to the Board of Land and Natural Resources and the Governor, the proposal for the Waiea Natural Area Reserve, TMKs (3) 8-6-001:003, Hawai'i island. Timestamp: (NARSC Pt 1 10.15.20 12:25)

Presentation by Nick Agorastos

MOTION: Unanimously approved moving the Waiea Natural Area Reserve Proposal to the Board of Natural Resources with a favorable vote.the proposal for the Waiea Natural Area Reserve, TMKs (3) 8-6001:003 (subject to acquisition), Hawaii. Motion carried unanimously. Timestamp: (NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 1 50:51)

Ayes: Bauer, Glenn Penniman, Jay Yeung, Norine Matsunaga, Janis Cohan, Alison Drake, Donald Hart, Patrick Kobayashi, Mary Lou Saito, Jeffrey Clark, Michelle

Opposed: None Abstention: None

- ITEM 4. Updates: Native Ecosystem Protection and Management Section Personnel, State Legislative Session. Discuss scheduling and items for future Commission meetings. Timestamp: (NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 1 52:35)
- ITEM 5. Adjournment. Timestamp: (NARSC 10.15.20 Pt 1 1:44:15)