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TWO ILLEGAL THRILL CRAFT OPERATORS SENTENCED 
FOR OPERATING JET SKIS IN WAIANAE SMALL BOAT HARBOR 

 
WAIANAE, Hawaii – Two thrill craft operators were sentenced this month to a $300 fine each 
and a 30-day prohibition on operating any jet ski in state waters, after being cited for operating 
jet skis without possessing required certifications and navigation lights.      
 
On Aug. 28, 2013, at approximately 8 p.m., a Department of Land and Natural Resources 
(DLNR) Division of Conservation and Resources Enforcement (DOCARE) officer observed both 
individuals operating their jet skis within Waianae Small Boat Harbor.  
 
On Oct. 14, 2013, they were charged and sentenced at Waianae District Court for violating 
Hawaii Administrative Rule (H.A.R.) 13-256-16(d) that requires thrill craft operators to possess, 
and make available upon demand of enforcement personnel, a certificate of completion from an 
accredited institution of higher education on safe use and operation of thrill craft.   
 
These charges are petty misdemeanors, punishable with fines up to $1,000 and/or up to 30 
days of jail. The court may also deprive the offender of the privilege of operating any vessel in 
state waters for a period of not more than 30 days.   
 
Tai Vandyke of Paia, Maui,, an employee of Volcom, Inc., was sentenced to a $300 fine and a 
30-day deprivation of the privilege to operate any jet ski in state waters. Abraham Wills of 
Waianae, a City and County of Honolulu lifeguard, was also sentenced to a $300 fine and a 30-
day deprivation of the privilege to operate any jet ski in state waters, but with the exception of 
work-related duties.       
 
To report a violations of state boating, fishing, hunting or other state laws call DOCARE at 643-
DLNR.   
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