Covid-19 Protocols: Please wear a mask when in groups, maintain social distancing, and be respectful of others. Aloha, Hawaii State Parks
PARK UPDATES: 5/21/21 - [OAHU] - The Keawaula gate at Kaena Point is now open on weekends. Gate hours are Saturdays: 6:00am to 7:00pm, and Sundays: 9:00am to 7:00pm. No overnight use allowed.
4/19/21 - [ALL ISLANDS] - Entrance AND parking fees are now required for non-residents at several parks across the islands including: [KAUAI] Haena, Kokee, Waimea Canyon, [OAHU] Diamond Head, Nuuanu Pali, [MAUI] Iao Valley, Makena, Waianapanapa, and [HAWAII] Akaka Falls, Hapuna Beach. Non-resident visitors will be required to pay for both entry and parking.
3/29/21 - [KAUAI] - The Kalalau Trail reservation system is open again. Reservations are available 30-days in-advance. Park Entry and Parking reservations for morning and midday are available. Sunset-time reservations are currently not available.
3/1/21 - [MAUI] - Waianapanapa State Park - Entry and Parking Reservations are now required for all non-residents. For reservations go to www.gowaianapanapa.com
New Fees Go Into Effect at Hawaii State Parks on Friday, October 8Posted on Oct 8, 2020
As of October 8, out-of-state residents and commercial operators will be charged higher fees for entering select Hawaiʻi State Parks. The higher fees were approved by the Board of Land and Natural Resources in August. Following a public hearing, the fee schedule was signed into law by Gov. David Ige last week.
Park Visitors will now pay $10 per vehicle and $5 for walk-ins at eight parks on the four major islands. Previously fees were $5 per vehicle and $1 for walk-in visitors. Commercial entry for vans and tour buses are also being raised, with fees now ranging from $15 to $90 depending on location and passenger capacity. Hawaiʻi State Park entry fees have not been increased for the past 20 years.
Under the rule change, Hawaiʻi residents will no longer pay to enter Diamond Head State Monument on Oʻahu (NOTE: DIAMOND HEAD REMAINS CLOSED DUE TO COVID). Parking and entrance fees to all State Parks for Hawaiʻi residents are free.
Camping and lodging fees will see modest increases. Residents will now pay $20/night for tent campsites, while the non-resident rate is set at $30/night. New lodging rates will range from $40/night for an A-Frame shelter at Hāpuna Beach State Recreation area ($70 for non-residents) to $70/night for cabins in various parks ($100 for non-residents).
Camping fees along the Kalalau Trail within Nāpali Coast State Wilderness Park, Hawaiʻiʻs largest State Park with arguably the greatest set of management challenges, will go up from $15 and $25 per night, to $25 and $35 per night for residents and non-residents, respectively.
Camping and lodging rates were last increased over a decade ago.
DLNR Division of State Parks Administrator Curt Cottrell commented, “Though the COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in drastic reductions in the number of visitors coming to Hawaiʻi, we hope these additional fees will help to offset some of our severe revenue losses incurred by State Parks as Hawaiʻi gradually reopens. Some of our most heavily visited parks will remain closed due to coronavirus concerns. This further hampers revenue generation as we all struggle with the economic impacts of the pandemic.”
Revision: 10/13/20 – Title changed to correct effective date.