Vessel Registration & Titling

DOBOR Vessel Registration & Titling Office
4 Sand Island Access Road
Honolulu, Hawaiʻi 96819
Tel: (808) 587-1970 | Fax: (808) 587-1977
Email: [email protected]

Hours: Monday through Friday, 7:45 AM to 4:00 PM
Closed on State holidays

On July 1, 2021, DOBOR implemented vessel titling, pursuant to Chapter 200A, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  All undocumented vessels principally used in Hawaii and not already titled must be titled before the expiration of the corresponding Hawaii registration.

Part of implementing vessel titling is a transition to a new accounting system.  Online credit card payments will be temporarily disabled during the transition.  Until further notice, all boaters renewing their vessel registration must come in-person to the Vessel Registration and Titling Office on Oahu or the nearest Neighbor Island District Office to verify and/or provide additional information on their vessels, as well as obtain a vessel title.  Under vessel titling and registration laws, a vessel cannot be registered unless it is titled, except for vessels exempt from titling.  More information about vessel titling is available here.

There is an ongoing re-validation of the information on all Hawaii registered vessels, which began prior to DOBOR launching vessel titling and its new accounting system.  For this reason, DOBOR may require an owner to complete a new vessel registration and title application.  Approximately one-third of the vessels in DOBOR’s previous accounting system have been completed.  Please download the latest online version of our vessel registration and titling form to see the types of information that will be required for an owner to obtain a vessel title.  Information collected on this updated application will satisfy the requirements to obtain both a title and a registration.

The tasks and information required from an owner to obtain a vessel title will only need to be accomplished one time for each vessel.  Vessel titles do not need to be renewed and are valid for the life of the vessel or until ownership is transferred.  Unfortunately, due to the high customer volume experienced at DOBOR offices for owners who are obtaining a first-time Hawaii title, the wait time for any vessel registration and titling tasks is estimated to be 30-40 minutes.  Once every vessel owner obtains a vessel title, renewals and ownership transfers will be much easier and quicker.  We appreciate your patience and understanding during this transitional period.

Vessel registration and titling fees, including late fees, are shown below.  These fees are charged pursuant to Hawaii Administrative Rule Section 13-241-25 (last amended 3/20/21).  Fee amounts provided on this page are for informational purposes only.  For official fees, please see the applicable administrative rules.

Vessel Registration and Titling Fees

New certificate of title

$20.00

Title transfer

$20.00

New registration for vessels under 20′

$25.00

Registration renewal for vessels under 20′

$20.00

New registration for vessels 20′ and longer

$40.00

Registration renewal for vessels 20′ and longer

$35.00

Launch ramp use (includes decals)

$75.00

Replacement certificate of title

$50.00

Replacement registration card

$10.00

Replacement registration decals

$10.00

Replacement ramp decal

$10.00

Late fees

Note: The late fees shown below are in addition to any other fees charged

Failure to obtain a certificate of title within the time required by law

$40.00

Failure of new owner to complete an ownership transfer with DOBOR within ten (10) business days after the transfer takes place

$20.00

Failure of seller/transferor to notify DOBOR of a transfer of ownership

$50.00

Renew expired registration for vessels under 20′

$20.00

Renew expired registration for vessels 20′ and longer

$35.00

 

 

 

This page was last updated on 8/11/21.