Fire Management Contacts

Fire Management Contacts

The following individuals are key members on their respective Branches, providing the necessary leadership in the successful implementation of the DOFAW Fire Management Program. The information below is solely for contacting staff related to fire management. Visit our contact page for general contact information for each DOFAW branch.

Please note that DOFAW does not employee full-time firefighters; rather, some of our existing positions are trained on fire response. Individuals searching for firefighting employment opportunities may wish to contact the county fire departments in Hawaiʻi.

Statewide Administration
Fire Protection Forester: Michael J. Walker
Phone: (808) 587-0166
Fax: (808) 587-0160
Contact via Email

Kaua‘i Branch Forestry Program Manager: Vacant

Phone: (808) 241-3770
Fax: (808) 274-3438

O‘ahu Branch Forestry Program Manager: Ryan K. Peralta

Phone: (808) 973-9784
Fax: (808) 973-9781
Contact via Email

Maui Branch Forestry Program Manager: Lance K. De Silva

Phone: (808) 873-3980
Fax: (808) 984-8111
Contact via Email 

Hawai‘i Island Branch Forestry Program Manager: Jay M. Hatayama

Phone: (808) 974-4221
Fax: (808) 974-4226
Contact via Email